Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Newbie here with a couple projects and questions.

Newbie here with a couple projects and questions. 8 years 9 months ago #118281

• cosmic12
  • cosmic12's Avatar Topic Author
  • Contributing Member
  • Contributing Member
  • Thank you received: 1
Hi, while I am new here I am no stranger to boats. I was raised on the Seneca river (Erie canal) in central N.Y. I am now 60 and still live on the river.
History aside I have been wanting to get a old glass outboard like what I used to see as a kid running up n down the river all the time way back when . Today I am going to bring home,trailer permiting that is what I think is a 59 Custom Craft. I cannot find a HIN or ID plate on it anywhere. Anyone have any idea how to truly ID one of these?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re:Newbie here with a couple prjects and questions. 8 years 9 months ago #118282

• cosmic12
  • Contributing Member
  • Contributing Member
Ok, like I said newbie so I will try the pics again.
Attachments:

Re:Newbie here with a couple prjects and questions. 8 years 9 months ago #118283

hi mark...welcome aboard....hin numbers weren't used until 1972....most older boats did have a plant number somewhere (maybe just a paper label)...more pics and closer would help...a lot of these older boats are identified by comparing them to old brochures, news paper ads and known similar boats....she does have the looks of a custom craft to me....there is a lot of info in the library here...you might want to check with whom ever titles and registers boats in ny to see if you can get the paperwork to put it on the water before you drop a lot of cash in her...she is a cool lookin boat...merry Christmas...john

Re:Newbie here with a couple prjects and questions. 8 years 9 months ago #118284

Welcome aboard cosmic12! I can't help you with identification of the boat, but it sure looks cool.