• Page:

TOPIC: Throttle Cable Help

Throttle Cable Help 9 years 1 month ago #114779

• Kevchoe
  • Kevchoe's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0
I really appreciate all the help I've received on here. I have another one. Again, it's a '63 Lone Star Deauville with a 105 hp Chrysler outboard.

I do believe that when the knob is pulled (neutral/fast idle) and the lever is advanced at the box, you're supposed to get a little throttle/gas to help get the engine started in neutral, right? Well my throttle lever goes to stops in both forward and reverse and I get nothing... just stays in neutral.

So to start my engine when it's cold, I leave the knob in and basically start it in gear to the throttle can open up a bit. It works ok I guess, but I'd rather it work right.

I'm no mechanic and I don't know throttle cables really well. I've read all I can find, and I've played with the throttle cable end on the engine but I really don't know what I'm doing. I believe the cable should be adjusted so it will just open up the throttle but I don't know how. I can add photos if anyone would like to see my set up.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re:Throttle Cable Help 9 years 1 month ago #114806

How does the cable attach to the carb? If the internal wire is attached to a lever with a screw that is what you would adjust. Or the outer jacket of the cable might adjust in what ever bracket it is bolted to. Perhaps the cable is not held in both places and that would be your problem.

Re:Throttle Cable Help 9 years 1 month ago #114809

• 63 Sabre
  • Contributing Member
  • Contributing Member
  • Thank you received: 167