Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Merc 700 oil in test tank

Merc 700 oil in test tank 10 years 6 months ago #91366

I need a bit of advice. I started my Merc 700 6 cyl. Gear shift this weekend and after a half hour run there was quite a bit of oil in the water drum, what would cause this? Also a bit of oil seeping at the crankshaft cover joint behind the starter. Otherwise all went well. I don't know how long this motot had been sitting but it started right up and ran well. Water was flowing from the telltale but I am unsure of the intake location.
My G3 is just about finished, just need upholstry and rub rail strip. I a anxious to try it out as soon as the engine is squared away.
Thanks for all your help, Jim
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re:Merc 700 oil in test tank 10 years 6 months ago #91390

Is it just from oil coming out the exhaust into the water. That doesent alarm me but I'm still new to the Merc monsters.

Re:Merc 700 oil in test tank 10 years 6 months ago #91400

I wouldn't be concerned about the oil in the water. It is natural for these old girls. Being 2 cycle and thirsty, there is oil and gas that is not all burned. It is more noticeable when running it in a small container like a barrel. As for the oil on the block, is there one of the rubber pressure equalizing tubes near there? They can leak around the connection to the block or they can have a crack. There also is a possibility it may be coming from the top carb, either from the throat or elsewhere.
Bill

Re:Merc 700 oil in test tank 10 years 6 months ago #91413

• ed-mc
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Thank you received: 115
If it indeed is coming from the crankcase joint, the correct fix would be to pull the powerhead, remove the crankcase cover, and re-seal.

The original sealer is Permatex or similar and I've seen plenty of them leak after 50+ years!