Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: 72' 800 Rectifier and wiring.

72' 800 Rectifier and wiring. 11 years 3 months ago #79791

I am new to outboards and this one is my first.

The wiring on this motor is brittle and chard in places. What kind of wire is it? It does not seem to be copper. Is it aluminum?

I got this old moter running today, but it is not charging the battery. I seem to be getting over 200 V AC comming into the rectifier, but less than 2 V DC coming out of it. Can I get away with an automotive rectifier as a temporary replacement?

Also there is a switch under the key on the throttle that I have not learned the function of yet.

Any help would be appreciated. I am trying get it in the water tomorrow.

Daniel

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: 72' 800 Rectifier and wiring. 11 years 3 months ago #79796

• ed-mc
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Thank you received: 115
Hi, Daniel, the wiring is braided copper which is more flexible and resistant to vibration than your standard stranded wiring. Yours probably looks all green & corroded, so it'd be hard to tell what it really is!

Best thing to do is to cut the wiring back until it's good n' solid material, then splice a new section in with an uninsulated, solderless butt-splice crimp connector. Then solder for best electrical connection.

Cover the splice with a single layer of electical tape, then cut a hunk of shrink sleeving long enough to overlap and completely cover the splice. Shrink 'er down, make up the end-connection in a similar manner, and you're good to go!

If you can get marine wire to use as a replacement, more the better, but it's rather expensive. Standard automotive wire will still give a good service life in your older Merc. Use a size of wire similar to the existing wiring.