Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Low compression on 70hp

Low compression on 70hp 9 years 3 weeks ago #114974

After buying a Craigslist special Arrow Glass listed as "lake ready", I discovered that it isn't. I took it to a local marine shop where they ran a compression test on the 1980 70hp Mercury outboard. The lower two cylinders (out of three) were way low on compression. The motor would idle and ran on a hose when I went to buy it, but when opened up on the lake, it just died.
My question is: What do I do about fixing low compression? Is there a reasonable fix that won't cost the price of another motor? I have a small amount of mechanical skill, but I know absolutely nothing about an outboard motor. Help!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re:Low compression on 70hp 9 years 2 weeks ago #115034

Low compression can be from many things, most of which can be only cured by a complete overhaul. While I am not a proponent of silver bullets or snake oil cures I suppose you could try removing the spark plugs, tilting the engine up and dosing the cylinders with a generous amount of penetrating oil to see if that will free up the rings in the odd chance they are stuck from sitting, but I don't want to give you false hope. To be honest, I would go back to the seller, tell him what is going on and hope that he is an honest Joe who will step up and own this repair job. This should have been disclosed to you at the time of sale in my opinion, and could amount to a case of fraud.

Re:Low compression on 70hp 9 years 2 weeks ago #115037