Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: 1960 Mercury 400

1960 Mercury 400 9 years 6 months ago #107523

Just bought a classic 1966 fiberglass boat with a 1960 Merc 400 on it. Glad to find a forum like this where there are other people crazy as me that want to keep these old boats / motors out on the water.

Checked the motor over and got it fired up without too much trouble. Had not run since 1986 as far as I can tell (last time boat was registered.) Doesn't seem to have a lot of wear on it based on the flywheel gear teeth and the ring and pinion gears in the bottom end.

Wasn't pumping water so I shut it down right away. Ordered a new impeller from MarineEngine.com.

My question is about where to find a manual for this motor. Most of what I found on line only goes back to 1965.

Once I get it up and running again, I'd like to check the timing etc.

I'm a newbie (first boat), so any other advice is appreciated also.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re:1960 Mercury 400 9 years 6 months ago #107524

PS: Tried to post pics, but apparently I don't know what the hell I'm doing...

Re:1960 Mercury 400 9 years 6 months ago #107525

best to get a pre 65 merc service manual oldmercs.com
you can call me at 1 914 310 7086.for help.

Re:1960 Mercury 400 9 years 6 months ago #107527

• MarkS
  • Thank you received: 5
Welcome aboard Gadabout. Here's a link to the site Dave is referring to;
store.oldmercs.com/category_s/1032.htm
We're very fortunate to have some great folks here very knowledgeable about the classic motors.
Here's a link to a thread in the support forum that will help with posting pics;
www.fiberglassics.com/fiberglassics-forums/home/support/how-to-post-pictures

Mark

Re:1960 Mercury 400 9 years 6 months ago #107544

Thanks guys. I'll definately check it out.

I'll also try to get smart on posting pics and get some of those up on the site. I always enjoy seeing what others are up to.