Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Is this bad?

Is this bad? 10 years 3 months ago #96737

I've been hoping that the damaged fiberglass on the bottom of my Scott looks worse than it is. The floor is solid, so I'm not too keen on tearing it out to inspect the stringers and foam but IMHO, this to me looks like water damage from the inside. When I pulled the boat out of storage, the cover was missing and when I cranked up the tongue jack, water started pouring out the drain hole! Quite a bit I may add. Is this a sign that water has damaged the glass from the inside out? I've tried to find similar problems but can't find any quite like this. This bad spot is only on the flat bottom not the entire hull and only on one side oddly enough. Any thoughts on this, good or bad would be appreciated!
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re:Is this bad? 10 years 3 months ago #96739

hi there. im no expert by any means but did i hear you right that the floor was ok. in mine the floor was a little soft in a few places. i was told to cut an inspection opening to look and see if it was dry or wet. i had the old open cell foam under my deck and true to form it was water logged. just as suspected from the guys.
i knew it had to come out. in your case it might be a good idea to make a small opening near the problem from the floor. something big enough you wouldn't have too much problem patching in the case it was good under the floor and that the bad stuff was only on the skin and not through and through .. maybe see if the spot is wet from the outside or if you think maybe try to inspect it enough to know it is only superficial . i havent had enough experience to give a for certain answer but my own experience tells me to do a little , just a little exploring. im sure more will add to this and all of it will be very helpful.

billy
Attachments:

Re:Is this bad? 10 years 3 months ago #96740