Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: first deck rebuild

first deck rebuild 10 years 3 months ago #96044

I have a 1978 mark twain 19' with I/O merc 165. I have completely gutted the floor, stringers and all down to the hull. Now I have fiber glassed before, and done a bunch of research. but i still have a few ?'s. can i make my own stringer system? i am thinking 2x4 and 2x8's does it have to sit on the bottom or can i like bridge it across the hull like a platform? with my idea the wood would be out of the water almost completely(yes i would still cover with FG). it just seems running it vertical from the bottom instead of horizontal would keep it directly in contact with the water. and i am wanting to limit that. i guess its hard to explain. And what is floatation foam for, doesnt a boat float either way.I know that may seem like a total noob ? but i am. first boat, first time in a boat first time driving a boat. i got it for cheap, and with a chevy 250 motor, i can work on all that as im a mechanic by trade. just worried about the deck. but props for knowing half the correct terms right ;)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: first deck rebuild 10 years 3 months ago #96048

hpcma1,

First, WELCOME ABOARD.

Also, I see NO reason why a framework "up out of the water" wouldn't work in "OUR boats", as most of the 1950s and 1960s glass boats are HEAVIER/THICKER FG than more "modern" glass boats are. Otoh, the 1970s & beyond depend on the stringers to stiffen the bottom/sides.

What I've wondered is WHY the floatation isn't installed under the gunnels, as logically that is where the flotation SHOULD be.= a "swamped boat", with flotation foam under the sole is PROBABLY more stable "bottom up" than right side up.

Also, ImVho, you have THE "class" I/O set-up as the 160/165HP Chevy-based engine is thrifty on fuel, relatively powerful & long-lived.

yours, satx

Resistance to tyrants is obedience to Almighty God.