Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: 1974 Thunderhawk 1700 or 1962 LoneStar Fleetwood

1974 Thunderhawk 1700 or 1962 LoneStar Fleetwood 10 years 4 months ago #94187

Hello all, and thank you moderators for bringing me on to fiberglassics!

I am a newbie on all accords (27 years old), I have only ridden on newer boats and do not have a lot of experience in the classic boat world. I am now infatuated though as I love old guns and cars, or anything with patina and class. To quickly preface my situation, I spent mother's day yesterday with my family and have inherited two boats from my grandfather.

The first boat was acquired when our lake house was purchased two years ago. From what I can tell it is a Larson Thunderhawk Starline 1700. It is all white, with blue/white interior. It has an I/O, volvo penta AQ170 with a chrysler 270, I believe. It has 3 carbs and the manifold/engine look good. We do not know when the last time it ran, or the history. It doesn't have an ignition/key. It has been sitting outside, but covered well with tarps for an unknown amount of time. The blue/white interior is about toast, the wood fell apart when I climbed in it yesterday to check it out. The instrumentation looks ok, carpet is toast too. The boat looks all there but the interior concerns me. The trailer it's on is rusted through and not road worthy.