Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Hi Laker Boat A First Project.

Hi Laker Boat A First Project. 11 years 2 weeks ago #84033

Hello there, I’m a newbie to this site and forum although I have been poking around for about a week or so.
I just bought a 14 foot 1967 Hi Laker made by Nelson Plastics in Seattle (no longer in business). I started poking around the web for info in the boat and the company and found Fiberglassics, glad to be here.
Anyhow, I got the boat for $400 along with full canvas, a 1999 Easy Loader in great shape and a 40 horse Tohatsu the previous owner blew up the power head on.
The Tohatsu was deemed pretty much unrepairable for any kind of reasonable price so I had it removed for scrap.
Now, I just figured on cleaning the boat up, filling some holes, painting and polishing and so on. However, as I was drilling out (enlarging for filling) some holes in the transom I noticed in some places, instead of wood chips and shavings (all very dark) on the drill bit, it was more powder.
Also, some of the speckled paint on the inside of the transom came away when I removed a large washer and the plywood underneath it was wet.
This leads me to believe that I’ll be replacing a transom.
Also, between the hull and floor it’s hollow and when I removed the outside drain screw and tilted up the trailer, brown water! Not a lot, but enough! I’ll probably then have to cut the floor out and replace the stringers. However, I had thought about cutting some 2 inch holes in the floor to let her dry out and possibly filling with expandable 2 part polyurethane foam in lieu of new stringers. Is this a good idea?

I hope not to make too much of a pest of myself, this is a first time thing for me and I realize that there’s a wealth of knowledge here. Maybe my mistakes might also help another newbie/firstie like me.
Any and all help and advice is greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.