Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: 1959 Fabuglas, Soooooo many questions.....

1959 Fabuglas, Soooooo many questions..... 11 years 4 weeks ago #83420

• JRodDv
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0
Ok, so before we get started, it is important to understand that I am a novice boater. I was fortunate to come across a 1959 Fabuglas Runabout that an older fella had been using as a fishing boat. When I went to take a ride in it, there was a bit of an issue with the motor staying running(I'll get into this more in a minute). Anyhow, I managed to get it at what I would consider a steal ($300), including the trailer.

Details, problems, issues, etc:
Windshield is cracked (I have been reading the front page article about it)

Motor would start after choking, but would not continue to run without it. Finally would not start at all and had to give up. From reading other posts I am understanding that this could be due to the carburetor being out of adjustment. I am going to get some carb cleaner tomorrow and see if that helps before I try messing with the adjustments.

Top fiberglass (above the bumper) has spider cracks all over it. My first thought was that this was due to sitting out in the sun, but after watching the previous owner stand on the bow, I now understand how this happened.

Previous owner removed original back seat sometime in the 80's for additional room for fishing.

Missing top? There is one bracket on the side where a bar for some type of a top would have been connected for pivoting.

Rubber bumper is still usable, but is cracked in several places.

One windshield bracket is broken.

Other plated pieces are pitted.

So.... to my questions. As you can imagine, as a new boater, my head is already swimming.

First off, any other thoughts on the motor? I am also going to clean out the fuel tank and put some fresh gas in it.