Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Transom replacement - is it even worth it?

Transom replacement - is it even worth it? 11 years 4 weeks ago #83415

Greetings all,
I am a first time boat owner, and unfortunately I bought my boat without really knowing wha to look for. The boat is a 1962 Mfg Westfield. Just found out th transom is rotted, and in doing research it seems like a hell of a job to replace. I've looked a the pour-in solutions like Seacast but they seem crazy expensive (if I did my calculations right, I would need 3 buckets of Seacast at $220ish a pop). I paid $600 for the boat and $100 for a trade for a motor in better condition. I do not have a garage so if I get involved with fixing it, it will be outside 24/7. What are your thoughts? Is there an easier method i'm missing? should i cut my losses and try to unload it? I like projects but this seems like a BIG project, and I have never worked with fiberglass before. Opinions and advice are appreciated.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: Transom replacement - is it even worth it? 11 years 4 weeks ago #83418

Hi Freak !

If you can post a few pictures of the transom from the outside and inside. It can probably be replaced with a some cutting and glass work and come out better and much less expensive than Seacast.

Re:Transom replacement - is it even worth it? 11 years 4 weeks ago #83419

I will try and post some tomorrow. The previous owner had reinforced it with two aluminum plates but when I was swapping motors, I took the outside plate off and around the motor mount holes lts pretty rotten. Looked like potting soil.

The new motor never got put on, she's laying next to the boat until this gets sorted.

Re:Transom replacement - is it even worth it? 11 years 4 weeks ago #83425

Replacing a really rotted transom is easier than one only partially rotted.