• Page:

TOPIC: It's been about 10 years.....

It's been about 10 years..... 11 years 2 months ago #80884

• Phishin
  • Phishin's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0
Around 2003 I joined this site (using a long forgotten username) because I was beginning to restore a 1969-1970 Starcraft V180.

I replaced stringers and floor and new interior and wiring. The old original 1969 Johnson 115hp was coaxed back to life. Since then, I've added a 1988 Johnson 15hp kicker.

The core of the transom was wet, but not rotten. I was afraid to remove the motor and replace transom.....I was a green rookie. Someone on here proposed that I drill a bunch of holes from inside the boat, through the thin inner skin of glass and through the plywood core....stopping once I hit the thick outer glass. I used a 1/4" bit with a stop on it and proceeded to drill a few hundred holes in the transom. I used a squirt bottle filled with acetone and sprayed the solvent in each of the holes every morning and evening for a week to dry out the core. I then thinned out some uncatalyzed epoxy and used a syringe to squirt in epoxy into each hole. I did this until the core was saturated with thin epoxy that never had hardner added to it. I then mixed up a hot batch of epoxy with extra hardner and squirted this into all the holes with a syringe and all the epoxy polymerized.

I am here to report that this has worked.

The boat has been on Lake St. Clair for a few seasons now.....used for musky fishing. It's made many 25 mile runs in 2-3 footers with a kicker hanging off the transom going 20-30 mph......the boat has taken a beating and the transom has held up nicely.

Thank you for all the help fellas.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re:It's been about 10 years..... 11 years 2 months ago #80888

• Phishin
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
Here she is.....photos taken a few weeks ago.