• Page:

TOPIC: new floor

new floor 11 years 8 months ago #73399

• chrisogg
  • chrisogg's Avatar Topic Author
  • Junior Boarder
  • Junior Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0
ok i just made my planks for my floor out of african mahogany and geting ready to lay it down any thoughts or hints i have never done it before and dont want to mess up i only have so much material to work with.
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re:new floor 11 years 8 months ago #73401

Have you confirmed that the original plywood and FG floor is solid and free of rot? Most restorations don't employ an overlay floor like you plan to do. Most just replace the plywood anf glass floor to original. But there are some people that have done similar applications as what you want to do on your Seafair. A word of caution though, it is probable that some water will get between the planks and the original floor. It will be difficult, if not impossible to keep it completely dry between the layers. This will hasten rot. So I'm not sure what the best method would be to "bed" the planks to the old floor. A thickened epoxy paste might work well, as would 3M 5200. But you would do well to ask an expert on these type "retrofit" floors.

Do you know Marty Loken at the Island Boatshop? He likes to put wood on glass boats like this and does great work. I would see what he has to say about your project & follow his advice.

BG

Re:new floor 11 years 8 months ago #73418

• chrisogg
  • Junior Boarder
  • Junior Boarder
It's not an old floor I have rebuilt the stringers and reinforced the floor with marine grade plywood and fiber glassed over it. I was planning on running the planks vertical to allow waer to drain to the back transom. Another thought I had is to build a drop in floor so I can remove it during fishing eason (NO BLOODY FOORS!).

Re:new floor 11 years 8 months ago #73435