Seats... 12 years 1 day ago #70251

• october
  • october's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0
I need to get some new seats...
Here is what the previous owner "fabricated" for seats:

I was thinking of some back to back seats, however, I have no experience with them.
Practical/impractical? Comfortable/uncomfortable?
What do you guys like for seats? What have you had good or bad luck with?
I was also thinking of making a bench seat for seating near the back. Is this a bad idea?
The boat is 15'
Just looking for thoughts or advice.
Thanks,
oct.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re:Seats... 12 years 1 day ago #70256

• 63 Sabre
  • Contributing Member
  • Contributing Member
  • Thank you received: 167
Oct, I've seen worse seat setups than your picture but those babies were ment to be on swivel pedestals with rod holders alongside. Back to back are all what you buy, el-cheapo or expensive-o. You should measure your floor though, looks like it gets pretty narrow towards the bow area and back to back seats are usually mounted on box type frames. You might have to do some "field engineering" to make them fit. Back seating is nice, easy to make but you will need to hinge it somehow for access to the battery, fuel tank etc.
Cal

Re: Seats... 12 years 1 day ago #70257

October,

FIRST, WELCOME aboard.

Like 63 Sabre, i've seen worse set-ups, by far.

In fact, (as i'm a fisherman) IF those seats DO swivel, i'm not at all sure that i'd change the configuration, as that rig would work for trolling or watching out for a waterskiier.

yours, satx

Resistance to tyrants is obedience to Almighty God.
Thomas Jefferson, 1803

Re: Seats... 12 years 1 day ago #70261