Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Advice for buying vintage runabout...

Advice for buying vintage runabout... 12 years 4 weeks ago #68800

• october
  • october's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0
Hi,
I am new to boats. I am also reading the runabout renovation book.
I am looking to purchase a vintage fiberglass runabout, 14-16 feet, and I am in need of wisdom. I have my eyes on a couple of 60's Corsons, and also saw a Steury.
It seems that boats of this vintage all have sustained some sort of damage. Should I expect, going into this that I will automatically need to plan on cutting out the floor to dig out waterlogged foam? Is there any way to check for waterlogged foam, or is the only way to cut a hole?
One of the Corsons I looked at, the floor looked pristine, but there was a shoddy repair made on the front of the keel where someone used mat on the outside. The other Corson also has questionable keel wear, including a spot where the gelcoat looks chipped off. The other concern I have is a hole about a half inch wide and a 1/4 inch deep near the rear of the boat near where the gas tank goes near the drain hole.
I feel confident about making repairs, but am afraid of water logged foam.
Here are some pics of the Corson...

Is this something I should pass up due to this damage?
Any words of advice would be helpful...

Thanks,
october

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re:Advice for buying vintage runabout... 12 years 4 weeks ago #68802