Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Original Flying Scott... should I even try?

Original Flying Scott... should I even try? 12 years 2 months ago #65916

• shacomm
  • shacomm's Avatar Topic Author
  • Senior Boarder
  • Senior Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0
We are working on getting our 1960 Dorsett in the water. One of the reasons I bought this boat is because it was in all original (unmodified) condition with the original Flying Scott 60. It was running two years ago but the seller told me he had starter issues. I pulled the plugs and cranked the motor over just to make sure the motor wasn't frozen and figured we sort out the starter issues.

As expected, I've been running in circles for two months trying to get the starter to function. It was no surprise when my local boat guy said the starter was shot and said his starter guy couldn't get any parts for it. I've taken the starter to a specialty starter mfg. (hotrods, motorcycles, VW's etc) and they have done a rebuild (armature/magnets etc.) We've done everything short of completely replacing the starter motor by putting a modern motor into the old housing. My next option is to send the starter out to have a gear CnC'd to mate the new motor to the original housing (who knows how long this will take and what it will cost. One-off parts from a machine shop $$$.) But I'm not going to throw away this motor because I can't get the starter to work.

So here's my dilemma: should I just go shopping for small 20-30 hp motor for the boat? Since it will be used primarily in salt in a So Cal harbor with a 5 MPH speed limit maybe I need a "service" motor. The Scott is a fresh water motor and way over powered for our harbor (I'm also concerned about fouled plugs etc.) I don't want to destroy the motor by using it. I'd rather restore the motor and keep it in my garage as artwork and ruin a smaller motor.

I'm open to advice... How would you do it?