Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: 57 Herters Flying Fish Restore

57 Herters Flying Fish Restore 12 years 2 months ago #65863

Hello all, I started restoration on a 57' Herters Flying Fish, by chance a ran into a member of this site doing some work at his house and he told me to join this site especially if i needed any help. This is my first attempt at restoring a boat. I have the boat split in 2, (top and bottom) and have most of filler work done at this point. The top was severly warp from being stored upside down for so many years so it took a little time filling and sanding to get all the warps out. Because this is my first time any help that anyone can give would be greatly appreicate. I will try to post pics soon.

Thanks
Anthony

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re:57 Herters Flying Fish Restore 12 years 2 months ago #65865

Anthony, Welcome.

Sounds like a good project. But its kind of like describing a painting over the radio, it just doesn't do it justice.

Please post some pics so we can join you while you restore your Herters.
Attachments:

1963 Starcraft 14' Ranger

Re:57 Herters Flying Fish Restore 12 years 2 months ago #65868

• 63 Sabre
  • Contributing Member
  • Contributing Member
  • Thank you received: 167
Anthony, you piqued my interest. Although I've been off this site for a few weeks, vacation, your Herters flying fish headline caught my attention. If you go to members projects you can see what I did with my '59 Herters rebuild. I wanted to show it this coming weekend at a local show in Door County, WI. but circumstances of work put the kee-bosh on that, besides the boat is still at the Merc dealer getting the motor tuned up.
I thought of going original but after repairing all the damage I started putting my own ideas into it.
Please post lotsa pictures, we love pictures and don't be afraid to ask for advice or ideas.
Welcome aboard.
Cal