Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Marine VHF/HF radios?

Marine VHF/HF radios? 12 years 11 months ago #48727

friends,

over the last couple of weeks (including at an antique boat show that i attended last weekend), i've been asked about:
1. SHOULD I BUY a Marine "2-way" radio?
2. if so, WHICH marine radio(s)should a recreational boater have,
3. do i need a license?
and
4. how do i know what to buy, without getting "ripped off"?
(i'm both a ham radio operator & state militia officer, so i get a lot of these questions referred to me by the AG's commo NCO.)

let me first say that i am FAR from an expert on boat restoration/repair, engine repair/maintainence & a lot of other boating subjects
but
i do know a good bit about:
1. what kinds of radios to buy to assure your safety,
2. what is "a waste of money",
3. generally, where to get a "good deal" on radios/antennas,
4. which antenna(s) & coaxial cable to buy,
5. how to properly install VHF/HF marine radios & antennas yourself
and
6. how to avoid "getting ripped off" by salesmen.

fwiw, i'm NOT "in the business" & do NOT sell VHF/HF commo equipment, so i can give you "neutral advice", if you want any.

yours, satx

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Resistance to tyrants is obedience to Almighty God.
Thomas Jefferson, 1803

Re:Marine VHF/HF radios? 12 years 11 months ago #48748

I carry a handheld Icom water resistant VHF radio in my boating bag. It's been a great radio, given what little use it gets. IMHO, you shouldn't need to install one in anything under 25 ft, unless you are doing some serious off shore stuff on a regular basis.

Todd (aka thetudor)
1964 Custom Craft Aqua Ray
1959 Glastron Seaflite
1959 Tomahawk Spirit

Re:Marine VHF/HF radios? 12 years 11 months ago #48751

thetudor,

that's what makes horse-races.

i do NOT trust ANY VHF handheld transceiver out of sight of land.