• Page:

TOPIC: "Practice Boat" ?

"Practice Boat" ? 13 years 1 month ago #42872

• G3Ben
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0
Hi all,
I have a 1961 Glasspar G-3 that I've been running for the last couple of summers. it has not been rebuilt, as it is in totally original condition. However, there are a number of spidercracks throughout the gelcoat and I've noticed two weak spots in the hull. I would like to do a total resto myself, but I have no hands on experience. The boat has a great deal of sentimental value so I would hate to "mess up".
I was thinking that maybe I could find another old glassic that is in a severe condition. Then I would restore that, learning as I go through the process. And if I do "mess up" it won't be the end of the world and i won't do the same thing wrong twice!
The "practice boat" would ideally be a small, 50s or 60s glassic.
Any suggestions on what boats to start looking for locally and on craigslist/ebay?
Thanks!
-Ben
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: "Practice Boat" ? 13 years 1 month ago #42895

• tey1967
  • Contributing Member
  • Contributing Member
Sweet boat. I dont think you need to practice. I am sure you can research techniques and figure it out. I think paint is the toughest thing. Anyone can fiberglass. Just take time to plan ahead. You will be suprised how easy, how much it costs, and how much time it consumes. YOU CAN DO IT!

Re: "Practice Boat" ? 13 years 1 month ago #42900

Ben,