Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Crosby Sled advice

Crosby Sled advice 13 years 1 month ago #42622

I am a complete newbee to boating but I'm currently narrowing my search for a fishing boat. On the top of my list is a '67 Crosby Sled. It looks like the fiberglass has been re-done and it has been painted. It looks like a very clean boat. Any advice on what/where to look for any problems... any personal experiences or reviews of this boat, etc. would be greatly appreciated. How will this boat stand up to a typical aluminium jon boat? Thanks for any pointers of feelings about this boat. Also interested in what the conventional wisdom is about the value of such a boat when compared to a comprabley sized metal boat. THANKS!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re:Crosby Sled advice 13 years 1 month ago #42643

Re:Crosby Sled advice 13 years 1 month ago #42644

• Split
  • Gold Boarder
  • Gold Boarder
  • Thank you received: 1
W.P : WELCOME. I had different skiffs in the past & always useful
for fishing & runnig antique tiller motors. I had seen one of these Crosby & are historic like a 13 ft ,Early Boston Whaler. . If it had been repainted redone it should be good value. NOt sure if the transom is wood & gets replaced over time, like a speed boat.??
That is where ALuminum will have no maintance over time. If AL gets dented in side takes away from value. Glass more easy to repair.. I have also fished out of Kayaks , with great success, if that is another option for you. I have a Crosby 16 ft boat & the name has a following with collectors.

A few months ago one was on the web here in TN, but took a long time to sell as we have a wider river / lake here. 16 ft is now
my favorite size.......
...this should be one of the sled models. !

Re:Crosby Sled advice 13 years 1 month ago #42645