Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Motor Question

Motor Question 13 years 1 month ago #40662

I currently have a 1958 35 horse Johnson. I have a friend who has a 1961? Sea King 40 horse. The color scheme with the Sea King would look great with the boat, a 1958 Sea Fury. Any suggestions or thoughts from the pros on this site would be greatly appreciated. Both motors run fine. Is a 1961 still considered a period motor fo rthat boat? Thanks for any advice/tips. Both are in comparable condition by way of blemishes.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re:Motor Question 13 years 1 month ago #40664

• Oceans2
  • Contributing Member
  • Contributing Member
  • Thank you received: 0
I am by no means a pro here but with a '58 engine,'58 boat you can't get anymore period correct than that combo,imo.Not quite like acquiring a numbers matching vintage classic car but almost. Save the '61 engine for a '61(insert your favorite '61 lust boat here).

Melanie

Re:Motor Question 13 years 1 month ago #40667

I realize that but cherry red with cherry red looks so much better. I don't know much about Sea King other than parts are interchangeable with OMC motors. I like them both one for the fact that it's a 58 which matches the period the other for the matching color. Decisions, decisions, decisions. Thanks for your feedback.

Re:Motor Question 13 years 1 month ago #40669

Here is my opinion...

A '58 and '61 boat and motor are period matching or period correct. As Melanie points out, what could be a better match than the same year, I agree, though I would also be more specific and call that "year matching"... the way I see it, a boat and motor from the late '50's and early '60's are from the same period. I call my setup period matching, that being a '59 G3 and '63 merc/controls. I planned to have a period matching setup, but I didnt want a "dock-buster" Merc... so I went with a slightly later model motor.