Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: First boat project- where to start?

First boat project- where to start? 13 years 1 month ago #40573

1959 Newport with mercury engine and tee nee trailer

Hi everyone this is my first project and I'm starting a list of the things that need to get done and in what order. Some basic questions I need help with:

1) a friend is going to scrape the rust off the trailer and repaint her , put new tires and bearings,etc.

Where can I get tee nee decals ?
What's the best place to order tires? Also need a spare

2) I want to work on the boat while he works on the trailer. What's the best way to position the oat in my garage for that? Where can I buy the right stands?

3) I need to have the engine checked out and restored if possible. Anyone know of someone reputable in NJ?

4) this does not have a full transom, how should u check it for damage?

Any advice is greatly appreciated!

Jim
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re:First boat project- where to start? 13 years 1 month ago #40575

Sorry forgot some pictures

Re:First boat project- where to start? 13 years 1 month ago #40578

• MarkS
  • Thank you received: 5
Looks like a great find Jim, congrats! (And welcome) In the upper right hand corner of the screen is a "Search Forum" box. You can enter any subject you like and see all the posts that pertain to your question(s). Let me tackle a few of them;
1) trailer tires (&wheel assy.'s) - Wally World, Northern Tool, Menards, etc. can be great sources for those. Just get the best you can afford, they've jumped in price lately like everything else.

2) search "boat cradle", several folks here have built excellent models from scratch recently. If you build one on wheels, it makes life much easier!

3) Couple good places up in NY, not sure about Jersey. Might want to post that question in the "Regional Forums" below (FGNE)