Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: I am new to FiberGlassics..need help

I am new to FiberGlassics..need help 13 years 2 months ago #38211

Hello, I am getting ready to start on this fiberglass journey with my dad. We have a few boats we are eyeing. There is one in particular that I can get pretty inexpensively, however I want to make sure the floor is not too bad for first timmers.
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re:I am new to FiberGlassics..need help 13 years 2 months ago #38213

Any Help on this would be appreciated as to what might be needed for the floor in this boat.

Thanks
Jay

Re:I am new to FiberGlassics..need help 13 years 2 months ago #38219

• Matt
  • Gold Boarder
  • Gold Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0
welcome to the website.
As everyone else will be wondering, what are you actually tackling?
Meaning brand and model of boat.
From what little I know, there is no floor and the stringers need attention...

Need to check stringers and transom for weakness or needing o replacement. Also when redoing it you usually follow a process or steps too...have been reading that you should not use Marine grade woods if fiberglassing over.

Lot of info here so be patient and someone will chime in.

I picked up runabout renovation off of Amazon and read it very informative.

Matt in Illinois

I ain't here for a long time, I'm here for a good time !

Re:I am new to FiberGlassics..need help 13 years 2 months ago #38223

Jay .........

Not to rain on your parade, but I will venture to say this looks like a total restoration, from the hull up. With the wood gone as far as I can see, I think you might want to check the hull to see if it hasn't taken a "set" from whatever is it sitting on. If on a trailer, it may have some deformations which may be tough to remove.

As a first-time project, it looks like a real challenge. The cost of the boat will likely be the cheapest part of the rebuild.