Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Transom Prep

Transom Prep 13 years 2 months ago #37214

I am replacing a transom on my boat and I am preparing the fiberglass on the stern. It looks like the original plywood transom was attached to the fiberglass with a putty. Is it necessary to completly remove this putty or will the new fiberglass bond to it? I am asking because if I sand until the putty is completly removed the fiberglass will be quite thin. This is my first time using fiberglass and any help would be appreciated.

Jason

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: Transom Prep 13 years 2 months ago #37218

If you are putting a new transom on, the general practice I believe is to use a layer of fg cloth between the outer layer and the new transom. I use epoxy when "gluing" so I'd sand the area enough to get a rough texture and then use epoxy then fiberglass cloth then the new transom. You can mix epoxy with microballons to get it thicker to help fill in all voids.

Hello, World!!

Re: Transom Prep 13 years 2 months ago #37219

Jason,

I don't understand why anyone would bond the glass to the plywood transom with a putty, could it be a layer of epoxy? In any case, if it were my project, I would get rid of it so you have a good surface for a solid bond to your new wood... I would sandwich a layer of thick mat, saturated with laminating resing beween the original fiberglass shell and the new plywood, clamped very well.

Remember that your transom takes the most abuse (needs to transfer all kinds of forces from the engine) of any point on the hull.

Welcome to the forum and good luck on your project. Please keep us posted with your progress and photos. By the way... what kind of boat are you working on?

Dean

Dean

Bandit - 1959 Glasspar G3
See more G3s at www.g3owners.com

Re: Transom Prep 13 years 2 months ago #37225

• Matt
  • Gold Boarder
  • Gold Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0