Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Hey all! New here, and need help with a project!

Hey all! New here, and need help with a project! 13 years 4 months ago #32991

Hey all.. just picked up a boat the other day and was looking to restore her. I have a 14ft aluminum that I was looking to grab a trailer for and a I found a trailer cheap that came with 14ft fiberglass boat.. so instead of just chucking the boat I figured I'd give it a go at restoring her. I have never done anything like this before so I searched around for articles and came across this forum. Everyone seems very helpful and looks like a lot of advice can be obtained through this community so I decided to join.

As I said, ive never restored a boat.. or anything for that matter. I have some fiber glassing knowledge, but I figure this would be a great way to learn as I go.

The owner of the boat told me it was called an Aquabird (says Aquabird on the steering wheel). He said it was modelled after the Thunderbird in the 60s. I'm not sure if this was just "sellers talk" so my first question is, what hull is this?

The outside is in good shape, inside is gonna need re glassed and carpeted. Then steering and other electrical needs done.

Any thoughts on what to start with, suggestions.. do you have any idea what boat this is, I know it was red in color before it got the brownish paint (some chipped off). Id love to see what it looked like in its glory days to get an idea of how to restore her.

Thanks!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re:Hey all! New here, and need help with a project! 13 years 4 months ago #32992

Welcome aboard.

This is a common misconception regarding "Aquabird" as the brand of the boat. Nope, it is the brand of the steering wheel. It has nothing to do with the boat manufacturer.

Andreas

Re:Hey all! New here, and need help with a project! 13 years 4 months ago #32993