Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: I'm an idiot - How to fix screw hole through hull

I'm an idiot - How to fix screw hole through hull 13 years 5 months ago #31154

I'm an idiot - I managed to put several screws through the bottom of my hull when installing a piece of flooring. (2" Course thread all purpose screws) The holes will be small when I remove but I am wondering what is the best way to fill them? Fiberglass repair kit? Epoxy?

(You don't need to confirm that I'm an idiot) Thanks for any suggestions!!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re:I'm an idiot - How to fix screw hole through hu 13 years 5 months ago #31206

BC,
I can tell you what I did but there are many others who are better at this fiberglass thing than I am. I'm new to it. I had a couple of bubbles in the gel coat so I ground it at an angle around the hole and used a small tube of MerTex. Over filled it a little and sanded down to blend with the gel coat. Problem is you can't gel coat over it since it's epoxy, you have to paint over it. So now I have to paint the hull vice trying to gel coat it. I just wanted to get her in the water though. You could go that route since they'll be pretty small and in the bottom of the hull out of site.

Others can chime in and probably give you better advice

Bob.

Re:I'm an idiot - How to fix screw hole through hu 13 years 5 months ago #31320

your not the first (believe me) and someone here well tell you just how to fix it....but yes I had a boat with screws hanging out of it also.

Re:I'm an idiot - How to fix screw hole through hu 13 years 4 months ago #31591