Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Free to me 14' MFG Carefree-now what?

Free to me 14' MFG Carefree-now what? 13 years 5 months ago #30510

So over the weekend I'm letting the dog out for his morning business as usual and I happen to look over at the yard one house over from ours and happened to notice what looked like a boat under a tarp behind a shed. Long story short I asked them about it and they told me that they bought it about five years ago (it was last registered in 2006) from a friend with the intention of fixing it up and running it out on the two reservoirs in the area. I went over to look at it today and though it had a tarp over it water got into it but we pulled the drain plug and the floor looks ok, but I'm no fiberglass expert. The rest of the hull looked ok as well (it's been sitting on a trailer), but what could have happened to it from sitting all these years? Does fiberglass "rot?" I've found a little information on MFG boats, mainly that they are somewhat of a classic-I really know nothing about them. I'm hoping to get pics up soon. Basically I'm just looking for a very simple boat to take my family out on the reservoirs and the upper Delaware River-nothing fancy. Any other MFG owners around?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re:Free to me 14' MFG Carefree-now what? 13 years 5 months ago #30517

Nice to see that you may have found a prize but obviously there is no advice anyone can give you without more info and pictures. Check the library link here to figure out more about the boat.

MFG's have been around a long time. I believe that the most collectable and valuable are those in those transition times when they started into the fiberglass age(around 60) and had fiberglass hulls that looked like lapstrake but still had wooden decks and seats. If you think you have that I will post pics of a couple my buddy has.

Maybe this is one of them but without more who knows?

Good luck.
Tim