Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Modernizing a Stern Drive?

Modernizing a Stern Drive? 13 years 9 months ago #22478

I am in the owner of a 1964 OMC Johnson Deluxe with Buick V-6 inboard and original OMC sterndrive. I would like to know if anyone has tried or has any suggestions as to updating the original drive with sometihing newer? I am new to I/O drive trains and would like to update the stern drive to make it easier to work on-as in getting parts- and a bit morre reliable. I have posted to the OMC Boats forum-just looking for more input. Thanks

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re:Modernizing a Stern Drive? 13 years 9 months ago #22490

check with these people, i think they make a convertion kit...

www.sterndrive.cc/about.htm

woosterken

Re:Modernizing a Stern Drive? 13 years 9 months ago #22584

• 63g3
  • Contributing Member
  • Contributing Member
  • Thank you received: 2
There are no good options except finding a good original. Even adapting a modern stern drive to your motor will be tough as Buick?olds / Pontiac shared bell housing patterns but all modern outdrives interface with Chevy or Ford. So unless you keep what you have alive, the whole power package needs to be swapped. I have seen good electric shifts available on ebay. The ball drive is another area of concern these wear and need to be repalces every so often. They are more redily available.
Randy

Re:Modernizing a Stern Drive? 13 years 9 months ago #22591

The thing that most people new to the old style OMC ball drive don't know is, you DO NOT touch the starter switch until the out drive is in the FULL DOWN POSITION. There is NO TRIM between the engine and the out drive. The two halves of the ball drive must be in perefect alignment, if not, they start scraping and wear out.