Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: So I have the engine, Now what boat to look for?

So I have the engine, Now what boat to look for? 13 years 10 months ago #20258

• stashm2
  • stashm2's Avatar Topic Author
  • Contributing Member
  • Contributing Member
  • Thank you received: 1
Hello All,
So I purchased a 1968 Merc 1250 long shaft no T&T looks like it will be a Runner, I am not looking to buy another boat yet but am looking for input on what type of boat I should look for to run this engine on?
I like stability, and some speed but within reason, I am fairly new to this power boat thing and love my Wagemaker and its Merc 500 but @ 30 mph a little more speed could be fun. Any sugestions welcome!
Thanks
Jesse

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re:So I have the engine, Now what boat to look for? 13 years 10 months ago #20260

A 14 or 15T Power Cat. Seems to me there's one for sale over in VT too for like 500 bucks. Want me to check? Only thing is, most of them have short transoms. I rebuilt mine for a long shaft. You could always get a jackplate!

My Power Cat 14T with an old Merc 1000 runs 45 and is very stable.

Frank

Re:So I have the engine, Now what boat to look for? 13 years 10 months ago #20266

• stashm2
  • Contributing Member
  • Contributing Member
I may want to look into it, but not at the moment mostly looking to get an idea of what I want to go with, I imagine any boat I look at will likely need the transom rebuilt just as a good measure to support the larger engine. I thaught about testing it on my Wagemaker its suposedly 17 foot but I think its actually closer to 16 and I am not sure how it would work out or if it will hold together... its only 75 HP more than I am using on it now.... lol thank you for the input. I could always fix up the Renken 18 it came off of but its a darn ugly boat.

Re:So I have the engine, Now what boat to look for? 13 years 10 months ago #20268