TOPIC: 1962 Lone Star Vacationer - new to site

1962 Lone Star Vacationer - new to site 4 years 6 months ago #141964

• hnt
  • hnt's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0
Hi folks,
I am a brand new member and happy to find this site.
I have been boating for many years and my main boat is a Pursuit 2460 Denali which I have owned for 10 years. I recently acquired a 1962 Lone Star Vacationer from the widow of a friend who passed away last year. The boat has been sitting outside untouched for 40 years and it shows. Much of the deck is rotted away and the transom is rotted. It has a 1961 Evinrude Lark III 40 hp that "broke down" 40 years ago and was the reason it was parked. I replaced the trailer wheels and tires, bearings and one hub, put on new lights and towed it home to the Albany NY area from Eastern Long Island NY. Once home, I cleaned out the mess that was just as he left it 40 years ago including the wooden water skiis in the cabin. I also started to poke around the engine and found it had compression of 95 psi and clean oil in the lower unit. I cleaned it up and replaced, coils, condensers, points, plugs, and wires, rebuilt the carb and fuel pump, replaced the thermostat and impeller and changed the lower unit oil. It started right up and ran good. Then I repaired the damaged cowl and painted the engine. Now its time to attack the transom and the rotted floors and bulkheads. No rush but it will be a fun project. I will try to attach some pics and I look forward to picking your collective brains on advice.

Cheers and good health to all!

Hnt

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

1962 Lone Star Vacationer - new to site 4 years 6 months ago #141965

Welcome aboard HNT and beautiful find. She's going to be awesome when your done. There are plenty of folks here who can help as you go through your restoration. Post your questions and we'll answer them.

Bob