Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Newbie Intro!

Newbie Intro! 7 years 3 months ago #132420

Hello fellow enthusiasts, My name is Ed Moore, but I go by teched since I use to teach it for a living. anyway I would like to thank the moderators and administrators for adding me to this forum. Long story short...I have a "thing" for old transportation related items. Vehicles, Campers, Motorcycles, Snowmobiles, All Terrain Vehicles etc, etc. But I have never owned a boat...So I found a "free" boat on Craigslist. We all know if its free it probably junk. I went to look at it and he said that the trailer could go with it for $100. My dad had a trailer so I could have moved it without it, but the owner then handed me the transferable registration for both the boat and the trailer. I couldn't pass it up then. I am know the bran new owner of a 1964 Starcraft Siren 14' and a 1973 Dilly trailer. I was then able to track down a 1964 Evinrude 40hp Bigtwin with controls for $75. The engine turns, but I have not done compression test, but I have purchased new waterpump, points and condedsors. So I guess I have a complete boat. My first question is about the transom. I have read and seen many people replace the transom. How do you know if this is needed. The transom and hull seam to be very solid.
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Newbie Intro! 7 years 3 months ago #132421