• Page:

TOPIC: Stability on plane

Stability on plane 8 years 2 days ago #127818

• ultraclyde
  • ultraclyde's Avatar Topic Author
  • Senior Boarder
  • Senior Boarder
  • Thank you received: 8
I'm a newbie to running powerboats, so I'm hoping you guys can help me with this (or just tell me to suck it up, Buttercup.)

The Chaparral 15 tri hull I have seems pretty unstable on plane. Max speed is about 30mph with two of us aboard (we're not light) and it will generally stay on plane down t about 20mph. When it's up on plane it seems to move around a lot, kind of side to side but not really chine walking. It doesn't porpoise either. It kind of feels like it could snap steer left or right, almost like it wants to fishtail like a rear wheel drive car.

I think there are several factors at work, but I may just not be familiar with how small old boats normally feel.

The boat has an 85HP Rude on the back, 15hp over max rating. The motor weights about 250lbs. I have a massive battery and (2) 6-gallon fuel tanks in the cubby at the transom. We normally run with just the two of us and no one in the tiny bow seats. The boat sits lower at the stern than I think it should on the water, but not dangerously so. Basically I think it's loaded too heavy at the rear, but there's not really a good way to get more weight forward due to lack of storage space - I can't really move the tanks or the battery up there. It takes a minute for the bow to come down when getting on plane but it doesn't seem overly slow.

The boat also has a tendency to list to port while on plane but not at rest, even though I'm seated on starboard and heavier than my navigator. Coincidentally, part of the anti-cavitation fin on the motor's LU is broken off on the port side as well. Could this be causing the list or adding to instability?