Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: trailer for 1967 16 foot larson

trailer for 1967 16 foot larson 8 years 1 month ago #126783

Greetings, I am about to purchase a 1967 Larson 16' with a 120 I/o. it does not come with a trailer and I want to make sure to get the correct one. I do have a small fishing boat trailer just to get it home so I can see if it runs. I would have to travel about 5 miles. I don't want to invest in a trailer if it does not run. I am a mechanic by trade so I am going to empty the gas tank, and flush the lines. If there is anything bad with the engine the price comes down. For the most part it is in really good shape and avocado green. Very cool vintage boat. I have read about bunks vs rollers not sure which way to go. I just want to make sure it is supported correctly. Does anyone know the weight? I will post pictures when I get it. Thanks in advance. Avocado

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re:trailer for 1967 16 foot larson 8 years 1 month ago #126784

• frog
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Thank you received: 3
I would suggest a 2000 lb trailer, the out board version with a 650 merc and 1 person shows 1450 lbs.

Re:trailer for 1967 16 foot larson 8 years 1 month ago #126785

I'd guess that the boat/engine is at the 1800 - 2000 range also. Add 18 gallons of fuel, battery & misc accessories and 2200 happens quickly. That is based on the assumption you don't have a lot of "water weight" under the floor.

Re:trailer for 1967 16 foot larson 8 years 3 weeks ago #126927

Thanks for the replies. Turns out my nephew has a 18' bunk and a 18' roller now to decide which way to go. Very curious about the term "water weight" and where is the water coming from and is this normal?

Re:trailer for 1967 16 foot larson 8 years 3 weeks ago #126928