Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: 1959 Larson Falls Flyer

1959 Larson Falls Flyer 8 years 1 month ago #126008

Hey there. So I'm pretty new to boating (dad had one, been a few times), but there is this neat looking boat hanging out in the parking lot of an antique store I go to every once in a while. I was intrigued by it when it first showed up (over a year ago) and it's moved places a few times, and it caught my eye again while I was there Saturday.

I did some digging and it looks like its a 1959 Larson Falls Flyer. Structurally the boat looks to be in great shape with no punctures or scrapes, but the fuel cell is rusty and someone stuck a 10hp 1958 Evinrude Sportwin on the back (so no controls). Also the trailer is in need of some attention in the way of new lighting and a broken leaf spring that needs replaced.

My thoughts are that it would be a fun project after I complete my motorcycle. I will call on it tomorrow to see about the price and whether it has a title, etc. That being said, I have a few questions:

1.Whats the thing worth?
2.Not that I'm thinking about maxing it out, but what is the largest motor it can handle? (I have seen one with a Merc Mark 75 and others with Mark 58s)
3.How big of a motor would I need to pull someone on ski's with 3 other people on board (average 170lbs per person)
4.Any other advice/ comments

Thanks!
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re:1959 Larson Falls Flyer 8 years 1 month ago #126009

Here is the rear/motor.
Attachments:

Re:1959 Larson Falls Flyer 8 years 1 month ago #126010

And the inside.
Attachments:

Re:1959 Larson Falls Flyer 8 years 1 month ago #126016