Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: 1957 Herters Duofoil Flying Fish

1957 Herters Duofoil Flying Fish 8 years 2 months ago #124319

Hello, I have a 1957 Duofoil Flyingfish. I have had it for about 10 years and now that I am retired ... It's time to redo it. A friend gave me a trailer recently,so it got me motivated. It is just a shell with only the back aluminum fin covers and the front nose piece. I plan on putting all original parts back on it and park it on a 1957 Tee Nee Trailer. ( the tee nee plant was up the street from me!) I will learn to navigate around this site and look forward to any knowledge you guys can share with me. I was a carpenter for my working life, so I have some mechanical skills .. but not a lot. :) Thanks, Mark ....... P.S. Parts I am looking for: Windshield and brackets, 4 cleats, 2 step pads, all around light and pole, steering wheel and assmby, skid cleat on back bottom. So you see, I have a long way to go! Would not be opposed to buying a whole boat for parts.
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Duofoil57

Re:1957 Herters Duofoil Flying Fish 8 years 2 months ago #124320

my guess is ? step pads, cleats, chocks stern pole and bracket, steering were generic and what the dealer had in stock, whether Atwood, Kainer... etc. Those pieces can be found pretty easily.
It's the flying pieces you have to look out for the most.

Be careful buying a donor boat. Because then you'll have two boats you'll want to restore. That's how it all started with me. Ha-Ha-Ha ! I once bought a 1966 donor Econoline Van for pieces for my 1965 Econoline pick-up. So first thing I did when I got it home, was invite a friend over, that needed sheet metal for his Nova project, and he cut a big side panel out with a sawzall. This insured I would not get any restore ideas !

Re:1957 Herters Duofoil Flying Fish 8 years 2 months ago #124329

duofoil57,