Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: New boat owner need help68Larson14ft 59Johnson50hp

New boat owner need help68Larson14ft 59Johnson50hp 8 years 6 months ago #120971

Okay so I'm new to the boating world. I found a 58 Larson 14 foot with a 59 Johnson 50hp with electronic start. I'm pretty mechamicly inclined so doing all the work my self is no problem. But the few questions I have are. What type of fuel should I use and what should I mix the gas/ oil ratio. Will any marine 2 cycle oil work or is there a specific kind since it is an old engine. How should I go about checking the gear oil in it? And I'm not getting spark. If anyone has a diagram or advice on how to check the points it would be greatly appreciated. But for the most part the motor is very clean and so is the boat I picked it up for 400$ with a nice tilt trailer as well. Just any advice would help alot thanks for looking!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re:New boat owner need help68Larson14ft 59Johnson50hp 8 years 6 months ago #120972

• ed-mc
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Thank you received: 115
Mix 50:1 with a quality marine 2-stroke oil, rating TCW-3. Use regular unleaded gas and if you can find it, non-ethanol. Your engine will appreciate it!

There are 2 large slotted stainless screws in the lower unit, one should be on the very bottom of the gearcase and the other, higher up on the side. Bottom one is the drain, the high-side one is the vent.

To drain the gear oil, 1st undo the drain plug; vacuum in the gearcase will prevent the gear oil from gushing out. Then, undo the vent plug and it'll drain much faster.

Refill from the bottom (drain) and pump oil in until it runs out the vent. Reinstall the vent plug then remove oil source and reinstall drain plug. Probably a good idea to renew the vent/drain plug gaskets as well. If they have the newer-style plastic washers and they look good, you'd be OK to re-use them.