Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: outboard selection

outboard selection 8 years 7 months ago #120120

Getting ready to restore my 1960 Dorsett Catalina. It needs everything accept the ability to float. This may be a faux pas, but I want to put a modern outboard on it. The transom is 16 inches, so I am having trouble finding mid-range horse power with any thing less than 20 inch shafts. The only NIssan with a 15 inch shaft I can find is a 20 hp. I was thinking 90 hp which may by overkill for this boat. Any suggestions or advice. I am new to boating and know very little. I appreciate you time.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re:outboard selection 8 years 7 months ago #120122

Short shaft in that HP has been obsolete for years.

Re:outboard selection 8 years 7 months ago #120137

• ed-mc
  • Away
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Thank you received: 115
You're probably gonna have to install an adjustable-height stern bracket (jack plate) and run a long shaft motor. Here's a fellow at this site with similar boat, running a 40hp long shaft Tohatsu and I imagine the transom on that boat was built to long shaft specs during the restoration:

www.fiberglassics.com/gallery/category/218-1960-dorsett-catalina-modified-restoration.html

You might get hold of him and ask how well the 40hp pushes a 17' boat.

Do you have a "Max Allowable Horsepower" rating on your boat mfr's Model/Ser # info plate? Maybe not, since it's so old. I wouldn't consider a 90hp too much motor if the transom is in good shape. A 75hp 3-cyl Merc would push it nicely as well, but you're looking at a long shaft motor there, too. They made that Triple in a 90hp flavor as well.