Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: New to FiberGlassics...

New to FiberGlassics... 8 years 9 months ago #118253

Hi, just joined FiberGlassics.
We bought our first boat, motor and trailer this past week from Rawhide in New London, Wisconsin.
She's a Larson 41605. Larson has identified it as being a 1967 165 Shark. She has a 1971 Johnson 125 hp.,4cyl.,2 stroke I/O that doesn't have any spark, so that's probably one of the first things I'm going to have to fix... other than that it seems to be in pretty good shape according to the inspection report.
The trailer is a Dilly DCV-16, and it's in good shape except for needing new tires.
We are planning on picking her up in January, so I'll have a better idea of how much work she's going to need to bring her back into shape then. We're living on the Prairies in Canada, so it's a good day or two driving!
I've done a lot of canoeing, but I'm new to the world of runabouts, so I'll be asking lots of questions. Likewise I can do a lot of carpentry work, but it looks like I'll be learning to work with fiberglass!
Here's some "before" pictures...
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: New to FiberGlassics... 8 years 9 months ago #118254

Monterey,

WELCOME ABOARD. - LOOKS like a nice rig too.

MERRY CHRISTMAS.

yours, satx

Resistance to tyrants is obedience to Almighty God.
Thomas Jefferson, 1803

Re: New to FiberGlassics... 8 years 9 months ago #118255

Thanks, Satx- I thought she was good looking too... love the sixties colors! Can't wait to go pick her up and bring her home.
Have a Happy Christmas too!

Re: New to FiberGlassics... 8 years 9 months ago #118258

• 63 Sabre
  • Contributing Member
  • Contributing Member
  • Thank you received: 167