• Page:

TOPIC: Officially becoming a Glassic!

Officially becoming a Glassic! 8 years 11 months ago #116723

• damartinca
  • damartinca's Avatar Topic Author
  • Senior Boarder
  • Senior Boarder
  • Thank you received: 5
So, I had been speaking to a gentleman in Idaho for the past 5 months regarding a 1963 Aristocraft Funliner that appears in pristine condition. Unfortunately, after all the hurdles of buying it site unseen, transporting it here, storage and not having a tow vehicle, I decided to move on.

THEN----I went to the awesome Fall Classic Cruise that Eduardo of Golden State Glassics planned and it reignited my fortitude to tackle the hurdles of becoming a boat owner. I contacted the gentleman in Idaho again and lo and behold, he still had the boat.

I purchased the boat and am in the process of finalizing transportation plans. Hopefully, by Thanksgiving it will be in my garage.

I'm hopeful that the 1966 Johnson 100 HP Golden Meteor will be easy to get going. It was last fogged when they put it away 5 years ago.

Today, I traded in my old SUV for a new SUV that will have towing capacity.

Thanks again for everyone's kindness and support! Especially thanks to Fiberglassic member Jim Lowe who posted the CL listing all the months back!

Sincerely,
David

P.S. I know nothing about engines, so I am sure I will be seeking advice often!
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: Officially becoming a Glassic! 8 years 11 months ago #116725

Hi David,

Welcome, nice looking rig. Before you try to start your Johnson post here and I or someone else can walk you through do's and don'ts. There are many helpful people here.

Post more pics when you get a chance, Gene

Re:Officially becoming a Glassic! 8 years 11 months ago #116739

• Jim L
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Thank you received: 2
Glad I was able to help you out,David. I think you will enjoy the boat.