Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: 1959 Glastron Surf-flite Newbie Restoration...

1959 Glastron Surf-flite Newbie Restoration... 9 years 3 days ago #115932

So I was able to get a very cool boat for free from a family member this week, a 1959 Glastron Surf-flite with what looks to be an old Montgomery Ward Sea King Forty or Fifty, I am not sure . I really want to restore the boat and it is in desperate need of lots of repairs and restoration. I was wondering if y'all could give me some advice on what to be on the look out for and maybe where to start and if I should have the boat re-gelcoated or try and use some sort of marine epoxy paint or something like that? I am fairly handy but I have never worked on a boat before so I am a complete newbie on this front

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re:1959 Glastron Surf-flite Newbie Restoration... 9 years 3 days ago #115933

Attachments:

Re:1959 Glastron Surf-flite Newbie Restoration... 9 years 3 days ago #115934

Attachments:

Re:1959 Glastron Surf-flite Newbie Restoration... 9 years 3 days ago #115935

Attachments:

Re:1959 Glastron Surf-flite Newbie Restoration... 9 years 3 days ago #115936

Attachments:

Re:1959 Glastron Surf-flite Newbie Restoration... 9 years 3 days ago #115937

Cool boat! I tackled my first project this summer. You'll find lots of information in the forum, and lots of helpful people with tons of experience. I used Rustoleum Top Coat on our boat, but there are a number of options. Enjoy your project!

Re:1959 Glastron Surf-flite Newbie Restoration... 9 years 3 days ago #115938

I think you have come to the right place for information and help in your pursuit of restoring the Glastron. You will also find a supportive group of people to make you feel less alone in this process.

You have chosen what looks to be a nice candidate for restoration.