Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Does anyone know what this is?

Does anyone know what this is? 9 years 1 week ago #115486

I am rebuilding a 1963 MFG Edinboro Custom, and while stripping the boat down ran into a fiberous board under the console to which the old fuse panel is attached. My concern is that it is asbestos. Does anyone know what this is? Has anyone else encountered this? I am including a few pictures. Yes, quite a few paper wasp nests under there.
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re:Does anyone know what this is? 9 years 1 week ago #115487

Sorry, photos did not upload. I am new to this so I apologise for the hiccups. Will try again

Re:Does anyone know what this is? 9 years 1 week ago #115488

And trying again...

Re:Does anyone know what this is? 9 years 1 week ago #115489

may have to resize....not over 2048x2048 pixels

Re:Does anyone know what this is? 9 years 1 week ago #115502

I highly doubt that is asbestos it is more likely MDF bored. If it truly worries you simply wear a dust mask, wet the material, remove it, throw it in a trash bag, tie up the bag and throw it away. Asbestos is only dangerous if it is airborne that is why you wet it down before removing.

Re:Does anyone know what this is? 9 years 1 week ago #115505

I blew up the photo, and it sure looks like simple MDF board to me. Why they would use it on a boat befuddles me....,., the stuff disintegrates in moisture'

By the way - more wasp nests in one place than I have ever seen... ouch!

Re:Does anyone know what this is? 9 years 1 week ago #115507

imagine all those critters swarmin outa there at ya!!!

Re:Does anyone know what this is? 9 years 1 week ago #115509

• 63 Sabre
  • Contributing Member
  • Contributing Member
  • Thank you received: 167
I'd wet it down either way, the stuff gives ya the "itchies" when it's cut or ripped apart.

Re:Does anyone know what this is? 9 years 1 week ago #115598