Painting 9 years 2 weeks ago #115426

• Bellboy33
  • Bellboy33's Avatar Topic Author
  • Junior Boarder
  • Junior Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0
OUCH!!! price of painting

thanks for all the help.
I have a new topic as i recently took my boat up for painting but i was BLOWN AWAY at the price.
Im thinking about painting it myself as i could buy the sprayer myself for the price of the paint job.but i have never painted a boat before and i dont want to mess up as i have been sanding for two years now.
not sure if this would be a good idea to paint it myself as Im not a painter.
I have four pieces to paint as it also has a hard top.
any help is appreciated.
I know this would be a process but wow this is just a 16,' bell boy.
Thanks

p.s. I have all the screws, and hardware off the boat and most all the sanding is done.

Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: Painting 9 years 2 weeks ago #115430

Bellboy33,

Have you considered a "roll & tip job"?? = I cannot handle a spray rig either but with modern paints that have good luster & will "self-level" to some degree, "Roll & tip" is an acceptable technique for a "using boat".

yours, satx

Resistance to tyrants is obedience to Almighty God.
Thomas Jefferson, 1803

Re: Painting 9 years 2 weeks ago #115431

• Bellboy33
  • Junior Boarder
  • Junior Boarder
Ive never rolled or tiped but or sprayed but just put allot of time on this boat i cant believe the price to get it painted but its a boat.
Attachments:

Re: Painting 9 years 2 weeks ago #115436

Bellboy33,

You might also check out local community college & technical school shops for doing a professional job.
(Here in San Antonio, we have at least 4 schools that have "collision repair" departments that do work on customers cars/trucks/boats. St Phillips College here charges 50.oo plus the cost of materials to paints such vehicles.)