Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Noob with a 1965 Starcraft Arrow - questions

Noob with a 1965 Starcraft Arrow - questions 9 years 4 months ago #110583

I just bought a 65 Starcraft Arrow with a 1959 Johnson 35hp big twin (see the pic). It runs good but I don't have it registered so I haven't been out with it yet. It was used last season.

I'm totally new to this so I have lots of questions and tons to learn...
    What to do for a cover? It's in the driveway and leaves and pollen are getting on it. Buy one, or just tarp it for the summer?
    How to start to restore the finish? It's a dull sun-bleached pink and no longer shiny red. Where to start reading?
    Seats are twin front/back seats and I'd like to restore to original (bench seats). Is this something I can have made (versus hand-build which I'm not against)? Where to start shopping?
    Can I put bigger tires on that trailer? Someone told me it's probably only rated for 45mph so no highways. Where to shop?
    What do all the toggle switches on the dash do? None are labeled. I can post a pic.
    Anything else I need to do right up front? Particularly as it pertains to safety. I threw the battery on a charger for 6-hours, but that's it so far. I don't want to make a rookie mistake!

I'll start a restoration thread if I get any traction this year...

Thanks guys.
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re:Noob with a 1965 Starcraft Arrow - questions 9 years 4 months ago #110585

• 63 Sabre
  • Contributing Member
  • Contributing Member
  • Thank you received: 167
First - welcome to the crew.

Nice boat, those things are practically bullet proof and fun on the water. Should zip around in the low to mid 30's for speed.

Cover if you just want to keep dirt out with a cheap tarp and bungee cords until you decide how much you want to spend on it. there are reasonable covers on Ebay that will fit yours.