Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Boat Flags

Boat Flags 10 years 1 day ago #101186

Newbie here! I recently purchased my first motor boat... A vintage 1968 Larson All American 166. Question about flags. Which is more appropriate for this vintage... A pennant style or dovetail design? Thanks.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: Boat Flags 10 years 1 day ago #101188

macguyft,

WELCOME ABOARD.

As to your question, I simply don't know. = I fly a Texas Yacht Ensign & a regular TX Flag on all my boats, but no "maker's" flag.

(TX is the only state with it's own yacht ensign. It was designed in 1837 by the Republic's Congress & was never changed. We also have a State Navy flag, too.)

yours, satx

Resistance to tyrants is obedience to Almighty God.
Thomas Jefferson, 1803

Re: Boat Flags 10 years 1 day ago #101194

• 63 Sabre
  • Contributing Member
  • Contributing Member
  • Thank you received: 167
Anything you want. Lot of these scallywags fly pirate skull and crossbones, I fly a beer mug. It's your boat, do what you want.
Attachments:

Re: Boat Flags 10 years 1 day ago #101199

Thanks satx! This is s great site! The TX ensign sounds cool... No such thing in Michian.

Re: Boat Flags 10 years 1 day ago #101200

Thanks sabre! Makes sense to me. Sometimes I get to hung up on rules and protocal.

Re:Boat Flags 10 years 23 hours ago #101203

My boat has been in the family since it was new and spent most of it's life on lake St. Claire. Dad always ran a Jolly Roger pennant on the bowlight staff. I added the national ensign on the stern light pole. I need to get a new Jolly Roger as one of the rings wore through.

Bob

Re: Boat Flags 10 years 22 hours ago #101206

macguyft,

The TX Ensign is a "rearrangement of" the regular TX flag with 3 horizontal bars WHITE, BLUE & RED with the white star centered on the blue bar.

yours, satx

Thomas Jefferson, 1803

Re: Boat Flags 10 years 22 hours ago #101207

macguyft,