Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: 1965/68 Evinrude Ski Twin, ignition wiring issues.

1965/68 Evinrude Ski Twin, ignition wiring issues. 11 years 1 month ago #82030

• Herb
  • Herb's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0
Hi Everyone, and thanks in advance for your help.
I recently picked up a 1965-68 33HP Evinrude Ski Twin with an old aluminum runabout for cheap and I'm looking to ressurect it. The motor came with a wiring harness and keyed ignition switch but no key!

I decided that it would be really neat to have an all push button system for ignition, but I'm having trouble getting a spark and am reluctant to pull the flywheel and magneto until I'm sure my wiring is not the problem. I've never worked on outboards before but i have most of the tools, little to lose, and a great interest in getting this motor to go.

So far I have removed and cleaned the carb. and tested the starter motor and starter motor solenoid. and choke solenoid all okay. wiring those to separate push buttons was the easy part. tested those and they work.

I thought the magneto leads would be simple, run both to a push button, the circuit is open until you want to kill the engine. IS IT THAT SIMPLE?

Again, id rather not pull the flywheel and magneto unless I am sure that it needs to be done. I'm more afraid that I'll unwittingly damage or break something that I shouldnt have touched.

I am committed to finding a way to do this with buttons, rockers, switches. whatever, but no keys!
thanks for your input.

Herb.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: 1965/68 Evinrude Ski Twin, ignition wiring issues. 11 years 1 month ago #82031

• Herb
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
forgot to mention, new spark plugs, properly gapped, and also tested resistance through the spark plug wires to ground during cranking of the motor, no reading came back in KiloOhms