• Page:

TOPIC: Resealing L/U, Use RTV?

Resealing L/U, Use RTV? 11 years 3 months ago #78725

• 55bigtwin
  • 55bigtwin's Avatar Topic Author
  • Expert Boarder
  • Expert Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0
Finally got the seals, and getting around to resealing the L/U on my '76 25hp. I actually switched parts with a '75 25hp. I noticed on both of the L/U's that RTV was used on the spaghetti seal. Is this correct or just a stop-gap by someone along the way? Also this is my first time resealing a L/U, anything else I should know? I was able to get the upper seal extracted, but the lower, closest to the prop is still giving me fits... Thanks.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: Resealing L/U, Use RTV? 11 years 3 months ago #78732

There are better sealers than RTV avaiable.
Do not overlook the shift rod O-ring seal in there.-Major cause of oil leakage that one.

Re: Resealing L/U, Use RTV? 11 years 3 months ago #78734

• ed-mc
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Thank you received: 115
OMC specifies their own brand of gasket sealer, think it's called Bombardier Gasket Sealer now. Mercury sells their "Sealer 1000". Both of which are roughly equivalent to "Perfect Seal #4".

But what I've always used is Permatex No. 3 Aviation-Type non-hardening gasket dressing.

You can get it in pretty much any auto parts store, in a small bottle with a brush-in-cap. Spread a thin coating on the surfaces and it'll seal just fine.

If you want to go Really Fancy, use a sparing coating of OMC Gel-Seal anaerobic sealer. It only hardens in the areas that are squished together, so it's ideal for metal-to-metal type of sealing applications.

Loctite/Permatex 518 is another good anaerobic sealer and many auto parts stores carry the stuff. I've used it to seal crankcase halves, amongst other things, and it works great.